Top 6 tournaments in the Abbot World Marathon Majors series (Part 3)

The current tournament record is also the officially recognized world record for the ly Marathon: 2:01:39 was set by Eliud Kipchoge in Berlin 2018. Women’s tournament record belongs to Gladys Cherono with a time of 2:18:11, also set in 2018

5. Tokyo Marathon

This is the only Major tournament not in the US or Europe. This is the youngest tournament among the Marathon Majors when the “new” was first held in 2007. But before that, there were 2 quite large Marathon tournaments in Tokyo, Tokyo International Marathon, and Tokyo – New York Friendship. The International Marathon has been held alternately in even and odd years, since 1981.

Tokyo Marathon

Two Kenyan athletes Wilson Kipsang and Sarah Jepchirchir hold the record for men’s and women’s tournaments with a time of 2:03:58 and respectively. 2:19:47 together created in 2017.

6. The Chicago Marathon

The Chicago Marathon is also a very high “fighting rate” tournament with 169,000 registered participants and only 37,000 selected (old data in 2014).

The Chicago Marathon has a long history when it was first held in 1905, however, it was interrupted and the modern history of the tournament started only in 1977. The Chicago Marathon also attracted the attention of many runners by the road run quite flat and easy to set high performance

Dennis Kimetto set a league record in 2013 with a time of 2:03:45 and Brigid Kosgei just broke the women’s Marathon record (which has existed for 16 years) at the 2019 tournament with time 2:14:04, of course, this is also the shortest completion time for women at the Chicago Marathon.


Above are top 6 tournaments in the Abbot World Marathon Majors series. The article has pointed out the most basic things about these tournaments.